World Cup 2023: Lesser-Known Trivia About The ODI Trophy

Top 5 Most Interesting Facts About The Cricket World Cup

The ODI World Cup 2023 began on October 5. The 13th edition of the premier tournament, hosted by India, will take place in cities around the country, with the final expected to take place at the Narendra Modi stadium in Ahmedabad. England is the reigning World Cup champion, having won at home in 2019.

A lot of issues still linger in the minds of fans, from the design of the World Cup to whether or not the victorious team keeps the original trophy. Let’s take a look at some of the lesser-known facts about the World Cup and its trophy ahead of its 2023 debut.

Jump To

Is the ODI World Cup taken home by the winning team?

world cup trophy
Cricket Addictor

Fans have frequently speculated whether the winning team will receive the original trophy. The solution is that the victorious team receives a replica of the World Cup trophy rather than the real one.

The original trophy has been returned to the ICC headquarters in the United Arab Emirates. The ICC emblem is inscribed on the outside columns of the World Cup reproductions but not on the inside of the original. That is still the only difference between the original and the replica.

See also  Do you need a 24/7 Dungeons and Dragons streaming channel in your life?

The ICC World Cup trophy design

world cup
Cricket Addictor

The ICC World Cup trophy is made completely of gold and silver and is shaped like a cricket ball with a seam around the perimeter. The silver columns are designed to represent the three basic parts of the game: batting, bowling, and fielding. The names of the winners are inscribed on hardwood at the bottom.

How tall and how heavy is the ICC World Cup trophy?

Did you know that Paul Marsden of Garrard & Co. in London designed the classic piece of silverware? The ICC One-Day International World Cup trophy stands 65 cm tall and weighs 11 kg. 

When was the World Cup trophy created? 

Following the completion of the 1996 World Cup, the International Cricket Council (ICC) decided to have a permanent World Cup. The current World Cup trophy was first presented to Australia, captained by Steve Waugh, in 1999. Four trophies appeared on the largest stage of them all between 1975 and 1996.

In October–November of this year, India is hosting the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023. The schedule has been released, and ENG vs. NZ will kick off the World Cup on October 5 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

On October 14, India will meet Pakistan at the same location. On October 8, Rohit Sharma and his team will take on Australia in Chennai.

India will host cricket’s global showcase event for the fourth time. The ICC Cricket World Cup Super League 2020-23 has already confirmed the participation of eight teams.

See also  Husband flies first class frequently, leaves wife and kids in economy seats; The internet calls it 'selfish'

What do you think about this? Tell us in the comments.

For more trending stories, follow us on Telegram. 

Categories: Trending

Leave a Comment