Top 5 Most Interesting Facts About The Cricket World Cup

Top 5 Most Interesting Facts About The Cricket World Cup

The 13th edition of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, and only the third after 1975 and 1979 (both in England), to be staged exclusively in one country, will be held in ten Indian cities from October 5 to November 19. 

The 48-match competition will include ten teams, with the final held at Ahmedabad’s 132,000-seat Narendra Modi Stadium, the world’s largest cricket arena.

We examine some of the tournament’s past numbers and odd tidbits.

Jump To

Here Some Interesting Facts About The Cricket World Cup You Should Know

The most wins 

Cricket Addictor

Australia is the most successful team in tournament history, having won the title five times, the most recent being in 2015. From 1999 to 2007, Australia earned a historic hat-trick of victories and won four of the previous six cricket World Cups.

In 1987, they won their first title in India.

Regardless of the format, Australia has always been a difficult side to beat in ICC competitions. They also won the T20 World Cup in the UAE just two years ago. They were crowned ICC Test Champions in June after defeating India in the final in London.

The favourite one 

indian cricket team
Hindustan Times

See also  Who Is Mathieu Joseph Girfriend? Is Ice Hockey Player Married?

Although Australia has typically dominated the competition, India appears to be the stronger team at the moment.

Only a month ago, India won the Asia Cup in a one-sided final in Colombo, thrashing Sri Lanka. 

They are also the top side in the One-Day International (ODI) rankings.

With the host nation having won the last three World Cup finals, India will be trying to make it four in a row in 2023.

Their roster has the most ODI experience of any side, with 1,449 matches played.

The only two players in the tournament with more than 10,000 ODI runs, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma, are also in the Indian camp. That experience could mean the difference between success and failure. India has only lost four games in the last three World Cups.

The surprising one 

This time, New Zealand will be eager to finish on a high note. They finished second in the last two World Cups, falling to England in the 2019 final on a boundary count after the match and super over were equal. 

They have experience competing in large competitions. They won the ICC Test Championship against India in 2021 and finished second in the T20 World Cup in the UAE.

New Zealand enters the World Cup as the champions of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League (2020-23), a 13-team qualification cycle for the World Cup in India.

First match without West Indies

West Indies, winners in 1975 and 1979, have not qualified for the event for the first time in its 48-year history. After failing to qualify for the Super League, they were given another chance in the Cricket World Cup Qualifier in Zimbabwe this year but failed to finish in the top two. 

See also  Man Drowns After Running From Police Officers Who Were Looking for Someone Else

Ireland and Zimbabwe are two more Test-playing countries that did not qualify for the World Cup. 

A long 7-year halt

Cricket Addictor

For the first time since 2016, Pakistan is travelling to India.

Their 15-man squad has never played an international match on Indian soil. Only two people have previously visited India. 

Mohammad Nawaz participated in the 2016 T20 World Cup but did not play, whereas Salman Ali Agha toured in 2014 with the Lahore Lions, a Pakistani home team that competed in the now-defunct Champions League T20. 

Their lack of experience may work against them. They are also the only team in the competition without a player with more than ten years of international cricket experience.

 What do you think about this? Tell us in the comments.

For more trending stories, follow us on Telegram. 

Categories: Trending

Leave a Comment